Skip to content

Wickle-Hole + Kit’s Coty: Best UK Place Names

January 26, 2011

When master blogger Jonathan Thomas, my friend over at Anglotopia.net, makes this delightful “map” of UK place names available as a poster, I will frame and hang it:

by Jonathan Thomas, Anglotopia.net

Or should I just wrap it in brown paper and keep it from the kids? Some of these town names are positively R-rated!

Not all, though: I just love Ramsbottom and Knockerdown, and I see “Lane” receives its due, but where is “Mews”?

Another place-name that sticks with me is Kit’s Coty. Despite more than one extensive muddy search, my family has yet to find that elusive Kentish stone pile. We’ve pursued it through drives, parkland hikes, numerous (conflicting) sets of directions from locals, and hot slogging along scruffy asphalt roadbeds with cars whizzing past. My kids were usually in flip-flops and other inappropriate footwear, naturally. All to see a bunch of big rocks erected for unknown motives by hairy ancestors.

Need I add that this is my husband’s obsession, friends, not mine? Give me a collection of 19th-century landscapes and tea in the Orangery Cafe, any day.

See you at Upperthong!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 12:59 pm

    If you’d really like to get a poster print – shoot me an email and I’ll send you a Hi-Res version. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. January 10, 2012 4:58 am

    Kits Coty and Little Kits Coty (The Uncountable Stones) are quite difficult to find.lol.
    They are at different places.
    Kits Coty
    Kit's Coty House , Blue Bell Hill , Aylesford , Kent(2)

    is a distance north from Little Kits Coty
    Little Kit's Coty  , The Uncountable Stones or The Countless Stones
    However, once you find them once, you will be able to get there from several directions.
    John Stratford (AKA John47Kent on Flickr)

    • January 10, 2012 9:06 am

      Oh, dear, John47Kent. I wish you hadn’t posted these wonderful photos. If Mr. Anglofiles sees them and renews his inspiration, we may be in for another fruitless slog along muddy paths and gritty road shoulders (what you call “verges”) of busy country highways. If that happens — and we’re lucky enough to return soon to Kent — I will advise the young Anglofiles at least to wear appropriate shoes, this time. (No flip-flops.)

      Looking at your pics, I wonder if we perhaps wandered unawares through Little, or lower, Kit’s Cody. Would we have noticed the surrounding gates?

      • January 10, 2012 9:43 pm

        If you, or Mr.Anglofiles, should ever get the overwhelming desire to return to my part of Kent, then just get in touch with me via Flickr or Email.Neither Kits Coty or Little Kits Coty are far from The Lower Bell Pub.By Public Transport you can get the 101 Bus to Blue Bell Hill.

        Kits Coty, is in a field off of a Public Footpath which runs from Chatham Road to the junction of Rochester Road and Pilgrims way.

        Little Kits Coty is in a field off of Rochester Road.You have to walk along the road and it’s on the left.

      • January 10, 2012 10:43 pm

        You are too kind. Now another reason to try to get back!

  3. March 6, 2012 8:10 pm

    Can you get this as a poster?? Would love this!!

    • March 6, 2012 8:16 pm

      Not officially, Kim, but per the comment at top, if you shoot a message to my friend (and super-Anglophile) Jonathan Thomas of Anglotopia.com, he might be able to help. Good luck!

  4. Jaz permalink
    June 26, 2012 7:35 am

    Do you know where I can find the riginal? Of all towns & cities in the shape of the uk rather than the rude places!? Would be much aprpeciated been looking everywhere!!

    • June 26, 2012 9:11 am

      Not sure there is an “original,” Jaz. Anglotopia blogger Jonathan Thomas designed the map himself, so far as I know.
      I don’t think the map’s aim was to highlight ‘rude’ names, by the way, so much as unusual ones (or at least, unusual sounding to non-locals), but I suppose they do mostly reflect a certain Anglo-Saxon earthiness!

Leave a Reply

